Being arrested for DUI in Columbia, Tennessee can be a stressful and overwhelming experience. That is because the penalties for such an offense can be severe and cannot only damage your reputation but also your life. Because of this reason, it is vital that you seek legal assistance from a Columbia DUI defense lawyer if you want to get the best outcome after a case hearing.
The reason why DUI is considered to be a serious offense is that you not only put your life at risk but also the life of others. That is why the consequences of being convicted for such a charge are harsh. However, with the help of a Columbia criminal defense attorney, you can build a strong case and increase your chances of getting a favorable verdict from the jury.
Are you facing DUI charges? Do you want to avoid being convicted? If your answers are yes, then you should contact our team at Nash Law, PLLC. Whether you are facing multiple DUI charges or it is your first time to get arrested for such an offense, we can help you protect your rights and also protect you from various legal consequences such as license suspension, extensive fees, and fines, as well as increased insurance cost.
Table of Contents
What Is the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Limit in Tennessee?
Like many other states, DUI is illegal in this region. However, you also need to understand that you can only be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal amount which is 0.08%. That means you are allowed to drink and drive as long as your BAC does not pass this limit. Moreover, the penalties can be enhanced if the driver’s blood alcohol content is more than 0.20 percent.
In most cases, the police usually use a breathalyzer to check the blood alcohol content. Because of this reason, we always advise our clients to make sure that they have a safe alternative for getting home after spending time drinking. That is because you can never determine your blood alcohol content unless you have such a device.
What Penalties Can I Face for a DUI in Tennessee?
In Columbia, Tennessee, you can be sentenced to serve jail time for a certain period or pay fines depending on whether it is your first DUI offense or not.
First-Time DUI Offenders
If it is your first time to be charged for DUI and you get convicted, you can be jailed for at least 48 hours. However, if your blood alcohol content was more than .20 percent, then you can end up being jailed for not more than 29 days and be fined a high penalty not exceeding $1,500.
Moreover, your license can also be revoked for one year, especially if you are under the age of twenty-one years old. Therefore, you might want to contact a Columbia DUI defense attorney even if you are being charged with DUI for the first time.
Multiple DUI Offenses
Multiple DUI offenders face a longer jail time and enhanced penalties if convicted for DUI. If it is not your first time to be charged with DUI, you must hire an experienced attorney to help you with your case. By contacting Nash Law, we can help you with your case by looking for a way to have the charges dismissed.
In Columbia, Tennessee, you risk facing a jail time of not more than one year if you get convicted of multiple DUIs. Furthermore, you will also be required to pay a mandatory fine of not exceeding $3,500, and your license will be revoked for at least two years. After the two years have expired, you will have the privilege of getting your driving license back, but you will not be allowed to drive to school or work.
Can I Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Columbia, Tennessee?
It is illegal to refuse a breathalyzer test under Tennessee’s implied consent law. You are only required to submit to the test if the officer had probable cause to stop you. Most states have an implied consent law that makes it mandatory for drivers to take a blood test after being apprehended for DUI. However, in Tennessee, it is your legal right to refuse a blood test. The only time you cannot refuse the blood test is when a search warrant has been issued or there are special circumstances such as a driver having multiple DUI convictions.
If you refuse a legally required BAC test, your license will be suspended.
What Is a Felony DUI in Columbia, Tennessee?
According to the law in Columbia, Tennessee, a DUI can be classified as a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the number of times the offense has been committed. You also need to understand that the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony is jail time. Therefore, if it is your first time to be arrested for DUI, in Columbia, Tennessee, this is considered to be a class A misdemeanor and you face getting jailed for not more than one year if convicted.
A Felony DUI in Columbia, Tennessee, applies when the offense has been committed 4 times or more. Furthermore, a DUI is also considered to be a felony if someone lost his or her life or if the offense results in a vehicular assault. This particular DUI conviction is known to carry extreme harsh punishments that can affect various aspects of your life.
Common Defenses in DUI Cases
An experienced Columbia DUI defense lawyer can not only protect your rights but also use common defenses to have such serious charges dismissed. Below are two common defenses in DUI cases.
Lack of Probable Cause for Stop
Lack of probable cause for stop means that the police officer did not have a valid reason to stop you or ask you to pull over. A police officer is required to have a valid reason for stopping you. Therefore, without a probable cause of DUI suspicion, such a case can easily get dismissed.
Challenging Accuracy of Tests
Challenging the accuracy of tests is also an effective way of making sure that your case is dismissed. Your legal representative can prove that the test administered by the police officer was not done correctly and therefore, the results of the blood alcohol content levels could be inaccurate.
How Can a Columbia DUI Defense Lawyer Help Me?
A DUI defense lawyer can offer you legal advice on how you can build a strong case to protect your rights. Moreover, our experienced team is determined to get a dismissal of the client’s DUI charges by uncovering any mistakes found in the collected evidence.
Contact Nash Law for a Free Consultation Today
DUI is considered to be a serious offense in Columbia, Tennessee, and if convicted, you may be required to pay huge penalties or serve jail time. However, you can avoid being convicted and increase your chances of getting your case dismissed with the help of a Columbia DUI Defense Lawyer. All you have to do is contact Nash Law at 615-627-4529 for a free consultation and the best legal services.