We Can Protect Your Rights & Freedom
Although we love our spouses and family members, disagreements still occur. However, when an argument evolves into a fight and the police are involved, you could end up being arrested for domestic violence. In order to avoid harsh criminal penalties, you must hire an experienced Nashville Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer to handle your case. Even if the alleged victim expresses instant regret, only state prosecutors have the power to drop the charges.
If you have been accused of domestic violence in Tennessee, our criminal defense attorney in Nashville at the law offices of Attorney Brian Lee Nash can help you avoid harsh criminal penalties. With our years of experience and thousands of cases handled, Attorney Nash can conduct a thorough investigation into your arrest, collect evidence, assess evidence gathered by law enforcement officials, and negotiate with the prosecution to either reduce the charges/penalties you face or get your case dismissed altogether.
Call 615-627-4529 today to schedule a free case evaluation. Serving clients in Nashville, TN.
Tennessee Domestic Violence Laws
In Tennessee, domestic assault is defined as intentionally or recklessly causing bodily injury, reasonable fear of such injury, or provocative or offensive physical contact against a family or household member. However, if the domestic assault involves serious injury, the use or display of a weapon, a strangulation injury, or committing, or attempting to commit, assault or injury while under a court order, then it is an aggravated assault offense.
Domestic assault penalties are similar to the penalties of general assault crimes. Assault is either a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor carries a maximum jail sentence of 11 months and 29 days and a fine no more than $2,500. A Class B misdemeanor results in a jail sentence of up to six months and a maximum fine of $500.
Aggravated domestic assault is either a Class C or Class D felony, based on the circumstances of the offense. A Class C felony carries a maximum 15-year prison term and a fine not exceeding $10,000, while a Class D felony leads to a prison sentence of up to 12 years and a maximum fine of $5,000.
A conviction is also punishable by the loss of custody rights, the loss of gun rights, a restraining order, and other serious penalties.
Request a Free Case Review Today with Our Nashville Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Our Nashville domestic violence defense lawyer can review your case, determine your available legal options, and build an effective and aggressive legal defense on your behalf. Do not hesitate to let us help you get the most favorable outcome in your case.
Contact Nash Law today to learn about your legal options by calling 615-627-4529 or request a free case evaluation here.