Drunk driving is prohibited in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. Drunk driving is considered to be the number one cause of road accidents in this region. Because of this reason, the state has established strict laws to punish DUI offenders. Therefore, if you live in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and have been arrested for such an offense, you should contact a Murfreesboro DUI defense lawyer to assist you with your case.
Besides being arrested for DUI, you can be sentenced to jail if you are convicted for this particular offense. Furthermore, according to the law, you also risk losing your license if the court finds you guilty of DUI. That is why it is vital to work with a legal representative if you are facing such charges. With the help of a DUI defense lawyer, you will have a better chance of winning your case.
At Nash Law, PLLC, we have the experience and the legal skill needed to protect your interests. Whether it is your first, second or third DUI offense, we will make sure that you get a favorable sentence from the court of law. Moreover, our Murfreesboro criminal defense lawyers usually focus on getting the client’s charges dropped so that you do not necessarily have to go to court or face any other kind of state disciplinary act.
Therefore, contact the Nash Law, PLLC, and get connected with the best Murfreesboro DUI Defense Lawyer.
Table of Contents
What Is the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Limit in Tennessee?
How much blood alcohol content you have in your bloodstream can affect your sentencing if you get arrested and convicted for DUI. Moreover, the penalties fined to a DUI offender can also be increased if the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) exceeds the required limit. According to the law in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, your blood alcohol content should be below 0.08% when operating a vehicle. Therefore, if your BAC is more than 0.08%, you can be arrested and charged with DUI.
To determine a driver’s BAC level, a breathalyzer is used by the police after the arrest. Therefore, if you are planning on driving to your desired destination after drinking, make sure that you have a sober driver who can drive you home or make sure that you consume less alcohol so that the blood alcohol content does not surpass the required limit.
What Penalties Can I Face for a DUI in Murfreesboro, Tennessee?
If you are convicted of a DUI in Tennesse, you can face the following penalties:
Charged with DUI for the First Time
Even though your DUI defense lawyer can do whatever it takes to make sure that your DUI case is dismissed, you still face the risk of going to jail if found guilty by the court. Moreover, you also need to understand that you can be sentenced to a short or extended period in jail depending on the severity of your DUI offense. Another factor that determines a DUI offender’s jail time is the blood alcohol content level as well as the number of convictions.
For example, first-time DUI offenders often get jailed for 48 hours or less than a year. Moreover, if their driving license is also revoked for at least one year. However, with the help of a Murfreesboro DUI Defense Lawyer, you can protect your rights and avoid losing your license or going to jail.
Charged with DUI for the Second Time
If you are charged with DUI for the second time, you can expect harsh punishment from the court if you get convicted. In Murfreesboro, Tennessee, you can be jailed for more than 45 days or more than one year if you are found guilty of DUI for the second time. Besides being jailed for such a long period, you also risk losing your license and order to settle court costs and huge fines.
Can I Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Murfreesboro, Tennessee?
Sometimes a police officer may ask you to take a field sobriety test to prove that you are not under the influence of alcohol. Such a test helps to determine whether the driver has balance as well as good coordination. In Tennessee, you can decide to agree or refuse to take a blood test.
However, according to the state’s implied consent law, you can be fined and lose your license for refusing to take a breathalyzer test that can be used to determine your blood alcohol content. You may be required to take a blood test if are a multiple DUI offender.
What Is a Felony DUI in Murfreesboro, Tennessee?
In Murfreesboro, Tennessee, a fourth DUI is considered to be a felony. If your case is classified as a felony DUI, you risk going to jail for more than one year and pay a fine of more than $3,000 or more. Besides, being ordered to pay a huge fine, your license can also be revoked for not less than 8 years. Furthermore, the court can also order you to compensate any individual who might have sustained injuries as a result of your DUI offense.
What Are Some of the Common Defenses in DUI Cases?
Possible defense in a DUI case include:
Lack of Probable Cause
The police have the legal right to stop you if you commit a traffic offense, but the law does not allow you to be stopped if there is no valid reason. Therefore, with the help of a DUI defense lawyer, you can easily get your DUI charges dismissed if the police did not have any reason to suspect you of DUI before stopping you.
Challenge Accuracy of Tests
Another common defense in DUI cases is challenging the accuracy of tests. Your lawyer can argue that the police officer did not have the experience or the skills required to administer any tests. Such a claim is used to question whether the results obtained after the tests are accurate or not.
How Can a Murfreesboro DUI Defense Lawyer Help?
Facing serious charges alone can be stressful especially if you do not have any legal experience. However, the help of a DUI defense lawyer can improve your chance of winning your case by building a strong case.
Contact Nash Law Today for a Free Case Evaluation
After being arrested and charged with DUI, you must work with an experienced lawyer if you do not want to go to jail or lose your license. At Nash Law, PLLC, we will offer you legal counsel and fight for your rights. Call us today at 615-544-6096 to start working on your DUI case.